The Western Five

Khaburis Codex (alternate spelling KhaborisKhabouris) refers to two manuscripts in the Aramaic language. The earlier of the two is an early Aramaic manuscript of the New Testament dating to between 300-310 CE and the later copy is a 10th Century duplicate thereof.[1] The Khaburis Codices contain the complete Peshitta New Testament containing 22 books, in comparison to the Western New Testament canon which contains 27 books. The missing books are known as the “Western Five,” namely, 2 Peter2 John3 JohnJude and Revelation.

There have been claims that the earlier document’s colophon identifies it as being a ‘copy’ rendered from a manuscript dating 164 CE, internally documented as 100 years after the great persecution of the Christians by Nero, in 64 CE – however the colophon is unreadable. To this day, there is no published transcription.